IF YOU SHOULD

if you should consider my demise
be it by knife or shiny gun
you’ll see a glimmer in my eyes
that is like a newborn sun

Rays my dear much too bright
you would shudder in their glow
peace and warmth born from light
your cold heart will never know

ignore this drop upon my cheek
given time enough it will dry
just smile knowing you still sneak
through this oft recurring tragedy

rage my dear like a black cloud
I won’t reconsider this least
your darkness will never shroud
that light rising in yonder east

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

