Invitation

I don’t care how old you may be
or what you have done to survive
I want to know what makes you ache
do you dare dream of meeting your desire
will you risk looking like a fool for love
for your dream or the thrill of being alive

I care not what planets caress your moon
show me you have touched the heart of sorrow
if you have been torn by life’s betrayals
become shriveled from fear of further hurt
I want to know if you can sit with pain
yours and mine or simply your own
without moving to hide, fake or fix it

I want to know if you can be with joy
yours and mine or simply your own
can you dance with reckless abandon
until ecstasy floods your being
to the tips of your fingers and toes
without cautioning us to be careful
to be realistic while remembering
the silly limitations of being human

It doesn’t matter if the story you tell is true
I want to know if you can disappoint another
in order to remain true to yourself
can you bear the accusation of betrayal
while not condemning your own soul
can you be faithless while deemed trustworthy
I want to know if you can see beauty
every day even when it is not so pretty
can you draw your own life from its presence

I want to know if you can live with failure
yours and mine or simply your own
and still stand at the edge of the lake
shout “YES!” to a silent star-lit sky
it doesn’t interest me who you know
or how you came to be here at all
I want to know if you will stand with me
in the center of the fire and not shrink back

it doesn’t interest me to know where,
what or with whom you have studied
I want to know what sustains you
from within when all else falls away
I want to know if you can be alone
with yourself and truly like the company
you keep during those empty moments

Leave a Reply

