ANNE’S EXHIBIT

A group from our congregation,

we call our class Traveling Pilgrims,

went to the Anne Frank Exhibit

just North of Atlanta, Georgia

such atrocities those innocents

endured with so much loss of life

If there is one of these exhibits

near the city where you live

do not let this dreadful memory

fade back into those forgotten

pages of a shameful history

begin by reading these sad lines

********************

First they came for the Communists,

and I did not speak up–

because I was not a Communist

Then they came for the Jews,

and I did not speak up–

because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists

and I did not speak up–

because I was not a trade unionist.

Then they came for the Catholics,

and I did not speak up–

because I was a Protestant.

Then the came for me-

and by that time,

Nobody was left to speak up.”

Rev. Martin Niemoeller

A Protestant Pastor who spent seven

years in a concentration camp.

7 Comments

Leave a Reply

