Gilligan One: under a Palm

Upon this sunny afternoon
I think about that cruise we took
another simple three hour affair
a terrible storm took our Minnow
tossed us high in the air
storm did pass
we survived

I wish we had not departed
for we found ourselves
on a deserted beach
that was, well….uncharted

I lie in my hammock all night
Skipper down below me
he is my friend
’till the end
I’m his Little Buddy

Ginger and Mary Anne
both beautiful women
many nights I lie awake
with them I wish to be sinnin’

Professor made a radio
out of a coconut
should have made a boat
that ignorant nerd
to get us out of these huts

Let’s not forget the Howells
Thurston and sweet Lovey
in their hearts
in their minds
visions only of money

We’ve been here for many years
my friends and me
yes, quite a while
but I would like to think
our time well spent
here on Gilligan’s Isle

…..Jerry Marks

Leave a Reply

