YEARS PASS

once said I could not imagine being so ancient
as my older brother when he came to be thirty
now I have become aware how suddenly years pass
with difficulty I try recalling those lost days

years pass and now so many remembered things
go back beyond decades that many may never know
today I look backward to what some call history
not too bad for some I thought as I turned sixty

today I am looking forward to a couple more years
when my warranty runs out to see how years pass
when I become as old as my brother once appeared
those forgotten days gone just short of forty years

years pass as I think forward to another twenty
then I will be as ancient as he once appeared
to one who has at long last filled his own days
and become more comfortable as those years pass

~~~~~Jerry Marks

Leave a Reply

