Throwback Tuesday?

How to reply to my daughter’s post: two questions I had no idea needed answers seem to have been hanging over her for years. Should I try to tell her what she wants to know or should I still be as evasive as I have always been? Maybe I should let her look out my back door and see what she sees; after all she is my daughter so….

I guess it is time to come clean at long last, so I’ll start with my “Little People.” They were such a vital part of my life for so many years that it is with great difficulty that I recall them from my hidden memories.

Where they came from doesn’t matter since only a few could understand. They brought a lot of happiness to my life for many, many years at great cost to their own. They came to join me during a very difficult time in my life. I guess you could say they saved my life there in that European hell. They helped me return home, so when they asked I brought them back with me.

Things were wonderful for such a long time, then they began to change. I think that was mostly my fault since there was no real stability in my life during those years. It seems that every time things began to go smoothly I would have to move. I was in the military during that those years but after that nothing much changed. I would still move from place to place so they really had nothing solid they could hold on to.

There was one period of years in the same place where they seemed to be happy and I began to make my children aware of them. We had many good times when they would show up unexpectedly. More often than not it took some fast thinking to prevent them from being accidentally trampled when we had visitors. Some of the reactions to my antics caused many humorous incidents, then the moving started again.

At first it wasn’t so bad but the moving accelerated and as we all got older that began to weigh heavily on all of us but more so on the Little People. Some where along the way they were lost and I haven’t seen them in several years. I live in another city now and I don’t know if I will ever see them again.

I keep hoping they will find their way here to where I am now but I don’t know if that is possible or not. I know that sometimes late at night I hear noises in different places in my house that makes me think they may have come at last. I hear the noises in the attic, under the house, inside the walls and sometimes in the wee hours of the morning I can hear something like tiny feet little coming down the hall toward my room. I do miss them so much.

Maybe now my daughter can guess what I hope to see when I am looking out my back door….

Kat's Scribbles

Tell us about a sensation — a taste, a smell, a piece of music — that transports you back to childhood.

Choosing one sensation was difficult, and it was even harder to pick one piece of music (I chose three). Each memory intertwines itself with the next and they continue to echo.

About 8 years into my life and 9 months after my brother was born, dinosaurs walked. More than the movie, I remember my brother running around as a Velociraptor for several years, and how excited he was when we visited the dinosaur park in Disney World where one of the “dino guys” took the time to talk with him. Their melody refuses to fade and like many others today, when we hear the haunting music, he reflects that same childhood excitement.

My parents don’t really have the same taste in music, except when it comes to Creedence Clearwater…

View original post 206 more words

1 Comment

  1. How to reply to my daughter’s post: two questions I had no idea needed answers seem to have been hanging over her for years. Should I try to tell her what she wants to know or should I still be as evasive as I have always been? Maybe I should let her look out my back door and see what she sees; after all she is my daughter so….

    Like

Leave a Reply

